Super Tuesday

For every primary election there is one day where twelve states elect their party’s candidate and delegates. The twelve states that participate are: Tennessee, Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Colorado, Georgia, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Oklahoma, Texas, Vermont and Virginia.

The Republican party put up Donald Trump, Ted Cruz, Marco Rubio, and John Kasich. To win the primary a Republican candidate needs 1,237 delegates with 1,762 delegates available. No candidate has reached the number yet. However, Trump is leading in most states including Tennessee.  He is followed by Cruz, than Rubio, with Kasich only having 25 delegates. Cruz won more states in the west while Trump won the southern states, along with Vermont and Massachusetts.

The Democratic side has only put up two candidates: Hillary Clinton, and Bernie Sanders. 2,383 delegates are needed for nomination, and Clinton is leading with 1,066 delegates. Sanders is following with only 432 delegates. Clinton won eight of the twelve states.

There are 21 more primary election days from March 5th to June 14th, with over 2,000 more delegates to be awarded. Besides the candidates mentioned, others -who have since dropped out of the election- had won a few delegates. As more elections take place it will soon become clear who the two candidates will be for the final election.