Oh My Oscars: The Nominations

The Oscars, one of the most prestigious film award ceremonies, is set to occur on Sunday, April 25th. The annual celebration of spectacular cinema was previously postponed due to the pandemic, but is now planned to proceed with a limited in-person audience at the Dolby Theater in Los Angeles, and a limited in-person audience at Union Station in Los Angeles.

Streaming services such as Netflix, Hulu, and Amazon Prime take credit for this year’s major film distributions, as movie theaters across the countries were closed due to COVID-19. Netflix Originals like “Mank” and “The Trial of the Chicago 7,” as well as Hulu Originals like “Nomadland,” received Best Picture nods, by virtue of The Academy’s new rules regarding the allowance of streaming service original films. These are the nominations for the top prizes.

Best Picture

“The Father”

“Judas and the Black Messiah”




“Promising Young Woman”

“Sound of Metal”

“The Trial of the Chicago 7”

Best Director

Thomas Vinterberg – “Another Round”

David Fincher – “Mank”

Lee Isaac Chung – “Minari”

Chloé Zhao – “Nomadland”

Emerald Fennell – “Promising Young Women”

Best Actor

Riz Ahmed – “Sound of Metal”

Anthony Hopkins – “The Father”

Gary Oldman – “Mank”

Steven Yeun – “Minari”

Chadwick Boseman – “Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom”

Best Actress

Viola Davis – “Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom”

Andra Day – “The United States vs. Billie Holiday”

Vanessa Kirby – “Pieces of a Woman”

Frances McDormand – “Nomadland”

Carey Mulligan – “Promising Young Women”

Best Supporting Actor

Sacha Baron Cohen – “Borat Subsequent Moviefilm: Delivery of Prodigious Bribe to American Regime for Make Benefit Once Glorious Nation of Kazakhstan”

Daniel Kaluuya – “Judas and the Black Messiah”

Leslie Odom, Jr. – “One Night in Miami…”

Paul Raci – “Sound of Metal”

Lakeith Stanfield – “Judas and the Black Messiah”

Best Supporting Actress

Maria Bakalova – “Borat Subsequent Moviefilm: Delivery of Prodigious Bribe to American Regime for Make Benefit Once Glorious Nation of Kazakhstan”

Glenn Close – “Hillbilly Elegy”

Olivia Colman – “The Father”

Amanda Seyfried – “Mank”

Yuh-Jung Youn – “Minari”

Best Original Screenplay

Will Berson & Shaka King – “Judas and the Black Messiah”

Lee Isaac Chung – “Minari”

Emerald Fennell – “Promising Young Women”

Darius Marder & Abraham Marder – “Sound of Metal”

Aaron Sorkin – “The Trial of the Chicago 7”

Best Adapted Screenplay

Sacha Baron Cohen, Anthony Hines, Dan Swimer, Peter Baynham, Erica Rivinoja, Dan Mazer, Jena Friedman & Lee Kern – “Borat Subsequent Moviefilm: Delivery of Prodigious Bribe to American Regime for Make Benefit Once Glorious Nation of Kazakhstan”

Christopher Hampton and Florian Zeller – “The Father”

Chloé Zhao – “Nomadland”

Kemp Powers – “One NIght in Miami…”

Ramin Bahrani – “The White Tiger”

Best Animated Feature



Over the Moon

A Shaun the Sheep Movie: Farmageddon


Best Production Design

Peter Francis & Cathy Featherstone – “The Father”

Mark Ricker, Karen O’Hara and Diana Stoughton – “Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom”

Donald Graham Burt & Jan Pascale – “Mank”

David Crank & Elizabeth Keenan – “News of the World”

Nathan Crowley & Kathy Lucas – “Tenet”

Best Costume Design

Alexandra Byrne – “Emma”

Ann Roth – “Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom”

Trish Summerville – “Mank”

Bina Daigeler – “Mulan”

Massimo Cantini Parrini – “Pinocchio”

Best Cinematography

“Judas and the Black Messiah”


“News of the World”


“The Trial of the Chicago 7”

Best Editing

Yorgos Lamprinos – “The Father”

Chloé Zhao – “Nomadland”

Frédéric Thoraval – “Promising Young Women”

Mikkel E. G. Nielsen – “Sound of Metal”

Alan Baumgarten – “The Trial of the Chicago 7”

Best Makeup and Hairstyling

Marese Langan, Laura Allen and Claudia Stolze – “Emma”

Eryn Krueger Mekash, Matthew Mungle and Patricia Dehaney – “Hillbilly Elegy”

Sergio Lopez-Rivera, Mia Neal and Jamika Wilson – “Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom”

Gigi Williams, Kimberley Spiteri and Colleen LaBaff – “Mank”

Mark Coulier, Dalia Colli and Francesco Pegoretti – “Pinocchio”

Best Sound

Warren Shaw, Michael Minkler, Beau Borders and David Wyman – “Greyhound”

Ren Klyce, Jeremy Molod, David Parker, Nathan Nance and Drew Kunin – “Mank”

Oliver Tarney, Mike Prestwood Smith, William Miller and John Pritchett – “News of the World”

Ren Klyce, Coya Elliott and David Parker – “Soul”

Nicolas Becker, Jaime Baksht, Michelle Couttolenc, Carlos Cortés and Phillip Bladh –  “Sound of Metal”

Best Visual Effects

Matt Sloan, Genevieve Camilleri, Matt Everitt and Brian Cox – “Love and Monsters”

Matthew Kasmir, Christopher Lawrence, Max Solomon and David Watkins – “The Midnight Sky”

Sean Faden, Anders Langlands, Seth Maury and Steve Ingram – “Mulan”

Nick Davis, Greg Fisher, Ben Jones and Santiago Colomo Martinez – “The One and Only Ivan”

Andrew Jackson, David Lee, Andrew Lockley and Scott Fisher – “Tenet”

Best Score

Terence Blanchard – “Da 5 Bloods”

Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross – “Mank”

Emile Mosseri – “Minari”

James Newton Howard – “News of the World”

Trent Reznor, Atticus Ross and Jon Batiste – “Soul”

Best Song

H.E.R., Dernst Emile II, and Tiara Thomas – “Fight For You” from “Judas and the Black Messiah”

Daniel Pemberton and Celeste Waite – “Hear My Voice” from “The Trial of the Chicago 7”

Savan Kotecha, Fat Max Gsus and Rickard Göransson – “Husavik” from “Eurovision Song Contest: The Story of Fire Saga”

Diane Warren and Laura Pausini – “Io Sì (Seen)” from “The Life Ahead (La Vita Davanti A Se)”

Leslie Odom, Jr. and Sam Ashworth – “Speak Now” from “One Night in Miami…”

Best Feature Documentary

Alexander Nanau and Bianca Oana – “Collective”

Nicole Newnham, Jim LeBrecht and Sara Bolder – “Crip Camp”

Maite Alberdi and Marcela Santibáñez – “The Mole Agent”

Pippa Ehrlich, James Reed and Craig Foster – “My Octopus Teacher”

Garrett Bradley, Lauren Domino and Kellen Quinn – “Time”

Best Short-Subject Documentary

Anthony Giacchino and Alice Doyard – “Colette”

Ben Proudfoot and Kris Bowers – “A Concerto is a Conversation”

Anders Hammer and Charlotte Cook – “Do Not Split”

Skye Fitzgerald and Michael Scheuerman – “Hunger Ward”

Sophia Nahli Allison and Janice Duncan – “A Love Song For Latasha”

Best International Feature

Denmark – “Another Round”

Hong Kong – “Better Days”

Romania – “Collective”

Tunisia – “The Man Who Sold His Skin”

Bosnia and Herzegovina – “Quo Vadis, Aida?”

Best Animated Short Film

Madeline Sharafian and Michael Capbarat – “Burrow”

Adrien Mérigeau and Amaury Ovise – “Genius Loci”

Will McCormack and Michael Govier – “If Anything Happens I Love You”

Erick Oh – “Opera”

Gísli Darri Halldórsson and Arnar Gunnarsson – “Yes-People”

Best Live-Action Short

Doug Roland and Susan Ruzenski – “Feeling Through”

Elvira Lind and Sofia Sondervan – “The Letter Room”

Farah Nabulsi and Ossama Bawardi – “The Present”

Travon Free and Martin Desmond Roe – “Two Distant Strangers”

Tomer Shushan and Shira Hochman – “White Eye”